Aurora OUT NOW

Parliamentary Awards Jazz Vocalist of the Year 2019, Zoe Gilby, “Aurora” album is out now.

Inspired by the instrumental compositions of award winning, Grammy nominated U.S trumpeter Tom Harrell.

“This is a brand new album of material and we are so excited to be augmenting the exciting instrumental compositions of US trumpet player and composer Tom Harrell with my own lyrics. As a songwriter, I have always composed the melody and the lyrics myself. This however, is an entirely different beast, and a one I have loved rising to the challenge of. I’ve loved illustrating Tom’s music further with my own lyrics, absorbing his intricate ideas, his serene delivery and portraying it sensitively with my own, awesome musicians, who help bring my words and these compositions to life.”

Released on compact disc and digital download

Vocals – Zoe Gilby

Trumpet – Noel Dennis

Guitar – Mark Williams

Double Bass – Andy Champion

Drums – John Bradford

Vocalist and songwriter Zoë Gilby has teamed up with jazz trumpet/flugelhorn player Noel Dennis, for this exciting new project. “Aurora” Inspired by the compositions of Noel’s trumpet and flugelhorn hero, Tom Harrell. This melodic, sharply conceived music has been augmented with lyrical interpretations written by Zoë. Illustrating further Harrell’s intricate ideas and serene delivery. Tom Harrell is widely recognized as one of the most creative and dynamic jazz instrumentalists and composers of our time with a career spanning nearly 50 years. The innovative unparalleled harmonic and rhythmic sophistication within Tom Harrell’s writing will be performed and lyrically heightened by this stellar line up.

“The lyrics work and this audience responded with enthusiasm. But Zoe’s voice is not just the vehicle for words but also an opportunity to be an instrument contributing to the total texture, colour and sound of the performance”

“The whole band tight and together for a ten plus minute climax to the performance, taking the audience with them to a triumphal close.”

“Award winning vocalist Zoe Gilby is back with an album which sees her appending smart new lyrics to some of Tom Harrell’s finest instrumentals” Jazzwise 4star review – Peter Quinn

““Aurora” represents another impressive offering from Gilby and her excellent quintet. Her voice and lyrics fit Harrell’s melodies perfectly and it sounds perfectly natural and organic” JazzMann 4star review – Ian Mann

“Zoe and her musicians deserve to be congratulated on the way they have delivered Tom Harrell’s music which, lyrically, has been brought to life by a singer with a distinct style of her own, a style that I very much enjoyed and look forward to hearing more of” Simply Jazz Talk 

“Listening again to Aurora it is perhaps hoped that is just Volume 1 in what may be a series of albums featuring Harrell’s work and Ms Gilby’s outstanding vocals and burgeoning talents as a lyricist.” Jazz Views – Nick Lea

“Aurora is an ambitious project, as it can be challenging to write lyrics to existing tunes, but Gilby has done a stellar job; the lyrics are always interesting, and singing delivers them to great effect, clear and concise.” Kind of Jazz 4star review – Matthew Ruddick

Click the song names below to view the lyrics for each track:

Shadowed In Solitude

Forget The Past

A Momentary Place Of Peace

Leap To The Limelight

Celestial Delight

This Is New

Ebb & Flow


IMG_2056 Zoe Gilby & MW Hi Res

IMG_2060 Zoe Gilby ND AC Hi Res

IMG_2062 Noel Dennis AC Hi Res

IMG_2087 Andy Champion Hi Res

IMG_2104 Russ Morgan Hi Res

IMG_2143 Noel Dennis & AC Hi Res

IMG_2150 Zoe Gilby Hi Res

IMG_2151 Noel Dennis & AC Hi Res

IMG_2167 Zoe Gilby Hi Res

IMG_2168 Zoe Gilby Hi Res